These 157 House Republicans Voted Against Same-Sex Marriage Protections

the house in On Tuesday, he passed a bill to protect same-sex marriage in federal law amid fears he may be in danger Following the US Supreme Court decision that overturned Roe v. Wade earlier this year.

The vote was 267 to 157, with all Democrats voting in favor. Only 47 of the 211 Republican members of the House supported the bill.

Several House Republican leaders voted against the measure, including House Minority Leader Kevin McCarthy (R-Calif.) and House Minority Whip Steve Scalise (R-La.). McCarty said he voted against it because “it was a political game by the Democrats.”

Democrats cited threats to same-sex marriage as suggested by Supreme Court Justice Clarence Thomas, who urged justices to reexamine the issue in light of the court’s decision to strike down protection of women’s abortion rights. Roe v. Wade. Several Republican senators have also said that the 2015 Supreme Court decision legalizing gay marriage was a “wrong” decision.

Same-sex marriage is widely popular among the American people. Last month, Gallup found that a record 71% of Americans support him, including most Republicans.

Here are the names of all the Republican representatives who opposed federal protections for same-sex marriage:

Robert Aderholt (Alabama)
Rick Allen (Georgia)
Mark Amodei (Nev.)
Jody Arrington (Texas)
Jim Baird (Indiana)
Troy Balderson (Ohio)
Jim Banks (Indiana)
Andy BarrKentucky
Jack Bergman (Michigan)
Stephanie Bice (Okla.)
Andy BiggsArizona
Gus Bilirakis (Florida)
Dan Bishop (North Carolina)
Lauren Boebert (Col.)
Mike Bost (Illinois)
Kevin Brady (Texas)
Mo Brooks (Alabama)
Vern Buchanan (Florida)
Ken Buck (Col.)
Larry Buckshon (Indiana)
Ted Budd (North Carolina)
Michael Burgess (Texas)
Jerry Carl (Alabama)
Buddy Carter (Georgia)
John Carter (Texas)
Madison Cawthorn (North Carolina)
Steve Chabot (Ohio)
Ben Cline (Virginia)
Michael Cloud (Texas)
Andrew Clyde (Texas)
Tom Cole (Okla.)
James Eat (Kentucky)
Connie Conway (California)
Rick Crawford (Arkansas)
Dan Crenshaw (Texas)
Warren Davidson (Ohio)
Scott DesJarlais (Tennessee)
Byron Donalds (Florida)
Jeff Duncan (SC)
Neal Dunn (Florida)
Jake Ellzey (Texas)
Rum Estes (Canada)
Pat Fallon (Texas)
Randy FeenstraIowa
Drew Ferguson (Georgia)
Michelle Fischbach (Minnesota)
Scott Fitzgerald (Wisconsin)
Chuck Fleischmann (Tennessee)
Ann Flood (Pennsylvania)
Mayra Flores (Texas)
Virginia Foxx (North Carolina)
Scott Franklin (Wisconsin)
Russ FulcherIdaho

Matt Gaetz (Florida)
Mike Gallagher (Wisconsin)
Bob Gibbs (Ohio)
Louie Göhmert (Texas)
Bob Good (Virginia)
Lance Gooden (Texas)
Paul Gosar (Arizona)
Kay Granger (Texas)
Garrett Graves (The.)
Sam Graves (Mo.)
Mark Green (Tennessee)
Marjorie Taylor Greene (Ga.)
Morgan Griffith (Virginia)
Glenn Grothman (Wisconsin)
Michael Guest (Mississippi)
Brett GuthrieKentucky
Andy Harris (Maryland)
Diana Harshbarger (Tennessee)
Kevin Hern (Okla.)
Yvette Herrell (New Mexico)
Jaime Herrera Beutler (Washington)
Jody Hice (Georgia)
Clay Higgins (The.)
French Hill (Arkansas)
Richard Hudson (North Carolina)
Bill Huizenga (Michigan)
Ronny Jackson (Texas)
Mike Johnson (The.)
Bill Johnson (Ohio)
Dusty Johnson (SD)
Jim Jordan (Ohio)
John Joyce (Pennsylvania)
Fred Keller (Pennsylvania)
Trent Kelly (Mississippi)
Mike Kelly (Pennsylvania)
Young Kim (California)
David Kustoff (Tennessee)
Darin LaHoodIllinois
Doug LaMalfa (California)
Doug Lamborn (Col.)
Bob Latta (Ohio)
Jake LaTurner (Canada)
Debbie Lesko (Ariz.)
Julia Letlow (The.)
Billy Long (Mo.)
Barry Loudermilk (Georgia)
Blaine Luetkemeyer (Mo.)
Tracey Mann (Canada)
Thomas MassieKentucky
Kevin McCarthy (California)
Mike McCaul (Texas)
Lisa McClainMichigan
Tom McClintock (California)

Patrick McHenry (North Carolina)
Mary Miller (Illinois)
John Moolenaar (North Carolina)
Alex Mooney (West Virginia)
Barry Moore (Alabama)
Markwayne Mullin (Okla.)
Greg Murphy (North Carolina)
Troy Nehls (Texas)
Ralph Norman (SC)
Steven Palazzo (Mississippi)
Greg Palmer (Alabama)
Greg Pence (Indiana)
August Pfluger (Texas)
Bill Posey (Florida)
Guy Reschenthaler (Pennsylvania)
Cathy McMorris Rodgers (Washington)
Mike Rogers (Alabama)
Harold RogersKentucky
John Rose (Tennessee)
Matt Rosendale (Mountain)
David Rouzer (NC)
Chip Roy (Texas)
John Rutherford (Florida)
Steve Scalise (The.)
David Schweikert (Arizona)
Austin Scott (Georgia)
Pete Sessions (Texas)
Jason Smith (Mo.)
Adrian Smith (Nebraska)
Chris Smith (New Jersey)
Lloyd Smucker (Pennsylvania)
Victoria Spartz (Indiana)
Pete Stauber (Minnesota)
Michelle Steel (California)
Greg Steube (Florida)
Van Taylor (Texas)
Claudia Tenney (New York)
Glenn Thompson (Pennsylvania)
Thomas Tiffany (Wisconsin)
William Timmons (SC)
Beth Van Duyne (Texas)
Tim WalbergMichigan
Jackie Walorski (Indiana)
Randy Weber (Texas)
Daniel Webster (Florida)
Brad Wenstrup (Ohio)
Bruce Westerman (Arkansas)
Roger Williams (Texas)
Joe Wilson (SC)
Robert Wittman (Virginia)
Steve Womack (Arkansas)

This article originally appeared on HuffPost and has been updated.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.